GC Four Club Trophy 1 September

report by Richard Keighley

For this year only, it was decided that the contest for the Trophy was to be decided in a single match at Wrest Park on 1 September. Fortunately, the day chosen produced excellent conditions for croquet with bright sunshine and the lightest of breezes all day.

Wrest Park were the holders of the trophy and fielded a team of Eric Audsley (0), George Collin (1) and Richard Keighley (3). Northampton looked strong on paper with Les Heard (0), Mike Hills (0) and Glynis Davies (4). Leighton-Linslade’s team was Ross Bagni (0), Jean Ball (4) and John Cundell (5) and Watford selected Geoff Johnson (1), Brian Havill (1) and Andre Machell (4).

The total field of 12 was split into two blocks of six to play each other on an all play all basis. The finishing order would be achieved on a cross-block basis.

Lunch was taken after three rounds with Northampton in a clear lead, followed by Wrest Park. Leighton-Linslade had faded after a good start and Watford were struggling. There was no significant change in the remaining rounds.

Cross-block pitched Les against Mike to decide the individual winner, and Eric faced George to decide third place. Les and Eric both won 7-5. Scorer Robert Archer then had the task of working out the points earned by each team:

Northampton 29 points, Wrest Park 22 points, Leighton- Linslade 17 points, Watford 10 points.  

Manager Richard Keighley presented Les Heard with an engraved glass and handed over the trophy created by John Bevington last year which comprised a framed and enlarged playing card of the Four of Clubs.

© Wrest Park Croquet Club  



Wrest Park

2020 Archive